House System

House System

Chesterton Academy’s House System is drawn from the 1,000-year-old tradition of Christian education exemplified in the colleges at Oxford and Cambridge.

The Houses provide real, tangible community within the larger school, giving students the opportunity to take ownership, fulfill the call to leadership and to cultivate the ideal conditions for virtue.

Each House has a senior and junior prefect and a faculty advisor.

House Names

The Houses of Chesterton Academy are named for the four saints (two from the West, two from the East) who support the Chair of Peter in St. Peter’s Basilica in Rome.

St. Ambrose (c. 338 – April 4, 397)

He was the bishop of Milan who became one of the most influential ecclesiastical figures of the fourth century. He promoted the rights of the Church in relation to the imperial state and is counted as one of the four original Doctors of the Church. He was also the teacher of St. Augustine.

St. Athanasius (c. 293 – May 2, 373)

Also known as St. Athanasius the Great, he was a theologian who later became the patriarch of Alexandria, a leader of immense significance in the theological battles of the fourth century. He is best remembered for his role in the conflict with Arianism, although his influence covers a vast array of theological topics.

St. Augustine (November 13, 354 – August 28, 430)

The bishop of Hippo, he was both a philosopher and theologian, as well as an influential church leader in north Africa. He framed the concept of original sin and related teachings on divine grace, free will, and predestination, as well as the theory of the just war. His works remain among the most influential in Christian history.

St. John Chrysostom (c. 347 – 407)

Archbishop of Constantinople, he is known for his eloquence in preaching and public speaking, his denunciation of the abuse of authority by both ecclesiastical and political leaders, the Liturgy of St. John Chrysostom, his ascetic sensibilities, and his violent opposition to paganism. He is particularly honored in the Eastern Orthodox Church.